Social Sciences Department at RRCC

The Social Sciences Department at RRCC offers courses leading to an Associate of Arts Degree, which provides the first two years of course work towards a Bachelor of Arts. Our department offers a variety of degrees and certificates, including the Associate of Arts degrees with emphases in psychology, sociology, communication, political science, criminal justice, anthropology, geography or economics. All of these degrees, and the majority of these courses, are designed to transfer to Colorado's public four-year colleges and universities.

Our Mission

The Social Sciences department is comprised of the departments of Psychology, Sociology, Communication, Political Science, Criminal Justice, Anthropology, Geography and Economics.  It is our mission to develop capable citizens who are empowered with knowledge to make informed and socially responsible decisions in a diverse and interdependent world.

Students completing degree paths in the Social Sciences will be equipped with an education that:

  1. instills critical thinking
  2. employs strategies to improve written and oral communication skills
  3. develops global awareness.
  4. identifies informed and responsible decision making skills. 

Contact Us

The Social Sciences Department is located at the Lakewood campus. We are always available during regular business hours. Visit our Contact Us page for more detail.